DMAIC – The DEFINE phase

DMAIC is the methodology used to eliminate and control non value added waste. It describes the overarching principles in Lean project management and consists of 5 phases: Define, Measure, Analyse, Improve, Control.

This sketchnote looks at the first phase : DEFINE

When starting up a project, you must first:

  1. Develop the problem statement
  2. Develop the goal statement
  3. Define the project scope – in LEAN, we use SIPOC
  4. Identify the key individuals involved in bringing about the change
  5. Define the process – we can use a Value Stream Map to first map the various steps in the current process, while trying to identify the value added and non value added waste times

My next sketchnote will look at the second DMAIC phase : MEASURE